A Gingerbread Home

Just for starters I thought I might talk about something from my Bucket List that I have already completed. Something tasty, something sticky and something that wasn’t as easy as it seemed….

…..I wanted to build a Gingerbread House. Why? Because frankly some of them look like amazing works of art! Oh and that whole gingerbread is delicious thing.

So, my original intention was to bake it from scratch.

Thank heavens that my wonderful partner talked me out of that and into building a gingerbread house from a premade kit otherwise the whole experience could have been a nightmare.

Not that the Gingerbread Kit was smooth sailing either.

The kit had some icing, some non descript looking lollies, some sprinkles and of course lots and lots of gingerbread. So the assembly began with my partner holding the walls and me piping the icing a.k.a. cement mix. It was thick, it was gooey and it never did what it was meant to do but after some struggling a house shape started to form.

My hope for a wonderful gingerbread house was returning until it was time to add some roofing. It slipped, it slid, then it sort of, kind of stuck. So before the roofing could come crashing down lollies, icing and sprinkles were pushed feverishly onto the outside of the house in an attempt to make it pretty.

Image

Well, how does it look? Well you may notice that the icing is everywhere….the kitchen was dirty and many of the lollies in the picture are sitting much lower than where I stuck them on. And of course just seconds after my finger pressed the camera’s button to snap this pick the roof decided to slide away onto the bench. The house was no more…..

Gingerbread House; TICK! Off my bucket list that goes. Not the best experience but it was tasty to eat and would be definitely fun to try and make with kids.

,And the best part of all; I have a newfound respect for anyone who can create a structure out of gingerbread. I salute you Gingerbread House architects!

5 thoughts on “A Gingerbread Home

  1. Thank you for the comment! Best of luck with your bucket list, we will keep an eye on what you post and we might even borrow a few ideas! Good Luck!

    • Thanks! Feel free to borrow ideas, i may do the same from you! I noticed you have a collect stamps goal; if you’re talking about postage stamps and want some from Australia let me know and i may be able to help!

  2. This is a great idea for a blog!

    Also, when I was a kid I had the same dreams of making an amazing, gorgeous gingerbread house. My gramma bought one of those kits to make one with me, and we had the same experience! Everything was lopsided and wouldn’t stick together :p Eventually, we ended up with a gingerbread shack covered in sticky icing blobs and falling off gumdrops, LOL! It was fun though 🙂

Leave a Reply

