An Australian Grand Slam!

So it seemed fitting as we are fast  approaching the Grand Finals of this year’s Tennis Australian Open that I talk about the many times now that I have completed this particular bucket list item; ‘Attend the Tennis Australia Open’.

I’d say now I’ve been about 8 times in the last 10 years; gee does this perhaps give away my love of tennis? If that isn’t quite clear yet….I love tennis!

So back in my teens I asked my Dad and Step-Mum to take me and to my surprise they said yes! So off we went to Melbourne with Rod Laver tickets in hand and WOW! The action, the courts, the amazing atmosphere. I loved it!!!

Image

I’ve had a range of experiences while there too; ground passes, non-tennis activities, lining up for hours for signatures (maybe not as fun), quarter finals.

I even saw Roger Federer play up close on an outside court some time before he hit the big time.
Image

I’d definitely recommend this experience for any Tennis fan who lives here or is travelling here. It’s definitely worth it!

And that’s a big happy tick to “Attend the Tennis Australian Open”

4 thoughts on “An Australian Grand Slam!

  1. Can’t believe you’ve been so many times, you’re so lucky!! I’m from Scotland and obviously supported Murray until the final hurdle. Following you now after the blog swap! Tara x

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by! I can’t really believe it either sometimes but living in Melbourne now it is actually quite easy to attend as it’s not far away from my home. Now the challenge will be heading overseas for the other Grand Slams! Poor Murray! I was sad to see Federer go!

  2. Tennis is not a popular sport in the Philippines. It is played, yes, but people are not that crazy over it, just like in Australia. Relating to that, I remember my Australian cousin, who plays tennis, and loves the sport. I enjoyed Lawn Tennis myself too. Hoping one day, I can watch a live event like that in your country.

    Greetings to you, with smiles 🙂

    QUICK Follow my Blog swap! #2 (abbyaguas has been here)

    • Thanks for checking out my blog! I’ve never played lawn tennis but i do love tennis and as you mentioned Australia loves it too! I hope you can see a live event one day! 😀

Leave a Reply

