February Pinterest Challenge

In the second month of Pinterest……I didn’t really find success….

This month I selected to wrap a balloon in yarn to make a sort of balloon shaped wool/hanging piece. (It didn’t really have a name!)

Here is the pin I chose to recreate; http://pinterest.com/pin/9851692906349561/

So I got out my wool, blew up a balloon and mixed up my own craft glue.

Image

And let’s just say the home made glue was the wrong choice. The idea was to dip the wool into the glue and then easily wrap it around the balloon to create the image you can see on the Pinterest link above; a pretty and decorative piece. Unfortunately because I made my own glue and it wasn’t quite right for the project it made the wool gooey and hard to work with. The wool also ended up feeling quite gluggy and heavy.

The wool seemed to stick to everything except the balloon after I had dipped it; my hands, my coffee table, my shirt, Yuk! After much struggling I managed to wrap it all around the balloon. Then I left it to dry hoping that the appearance would improve as it dried. This didn’t really happen; my glue dried in weird flaky bits off the sides of the wool and doesn’t really have an appealing appearance.

See for yourself. (Thank you to my partner Nathan for holding it up for me!)

Image

On the plus side it was like being a kid again playing with art and crafts, mushing the glue everywhere and in general just having fun!

Perhaps next time I can use more appropriate glue that would achieve a better result and leave that wool a little easier to work with.

But for now back to the Pinterest board to find something to try in March! Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “February Pinterest Challenge

  1. Omg I pinned this too! But hadn’t tried it cos I wasn’t sure which glue to use! Sorry yours didn’t work out so well. It would really be nice if we had access to the same sort of supplies as Americans!! What sort of glue did you end up making? I was going to try and find a good starch recipe.. One of these days lol

  2. Haha, yes some proper American glue would be fantastic! I just made my own flour based glue which just didn’t work out for me. Fingers crossed that March’s project goes a little better!

Leave a comment